Speedy Seedy Oatmeal Müesli Mix

You don’t have a lot of time in the morning but like to have a yummy and nourishing breakfast? I’ve got something for you!

I like to prepare an oatmeal mix with different kinds of grains and nuts in advance, so that all I have to do in the morning is add some warm plant milk and any fresh ingredients I like. That way, I don’t have to throw everything together in the morning, I don’t have to remember to make overnight oats and I still have a warm and delicious muesli in the morning.

Not to mention, it’s so much cheaper than any oatmeal mix you can buy and barely takes 10 minutes to make, plus a few minutes in the morning to throw together.

This recipe is also really easy to adjust to your taste. Maybe I shouldn’t even call it a recipe. It’s that simple. You find the full recipe I use below, but here is some more inspiration for things you could add:

  • any grains, either flakes or flours or anything in between, e.g. oats, spelt, millet, barley, rye or buckwheat
  • puffed rice, amaranth or quinoa
  • nuts and seeds
  • spices, e.g. ginger, cinnamon, turmeric, cacao (cacao isn’t a spice, is it?)
  • banana flakes
  • chestnut flour
  • coconut flour or flakes

If you like overnight oats, you might want to check out my Birchermüesli.

DSC00982gimp1

DSC00990gimp1

This is the recipe (a.k.a. inspiration):

Makes a big jar of the muesli
Takes about 10 minutes to prepare

Ingredients

150g rolled oats
100g millet flakes
30g buckwheat flour
30g walnuts
30g flax seeds or flax meal
40g wheat germs
2tbsp ground cinnamon (I used Ceylon cinnamon)
1 tbsp ground ginger

plant mylk, I prefer rice or oat drink (which are naturally sweet and relatively cheap)

any fresh ingredients you like, here I added raspberries and hazelut butter
some ideas are: any fresh, dried or frozen fruit, fruit compote or jam, nut butter, chia pudding, granola, yogurt, chocolate sprinkles, sweetener of choice

Instructions

Grind the grains and the nuts in a food processor or blender (I like to grind most of my oats and millet flakes). Mix everything in a bowl. Transfer to a big jar.

That’s it.

To make the oatmeal in the morning:
Mix 100g of the muesli with 100ml warm rice or oat drink and add any fresh ingredients you like.

Some of my favourites are: adding fuit compote (you can prepare that in advance as well), nut butter (especially hazelnut and almond butter), granola or cacao powder.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Speedy Seedy Oatmeal Müesli Mix

Leave a comment